Presidency Council

The Presidency Council,

composed of the heads of state of the member states. Supreme organ of the Union. Only body empowered to take decisions and unanimously. Its chairmanship is for a period of one year and by rotation between the Heads of State. Hold an ordinary session once a year and special sessions if necessary. Six sessions were held respectively at:

  • Tunis, 21-23 January 1990,
  • Algiers, 21-23 July 1990
  • Ras Lanouf (Libya), 10-11 March 1991,
  • Casablanca (Morocco), 15-16 September 1991,
  • Nouakchott, 10-11 November 1992.
  • Tunis, 2-3 April 1994.